Acura TLX Forum banner

Would you recommend the TLX to new buyers right now?

• Yes

Votes: 24 72.7%
  • No

Votes: 9 27.3%
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Simple question: Would you recommend the TLX I-4 Tech to your friends/family?

I was almost ready to purchase about a week ago and then coming here and reading about the transmission issues really makes me nervous. I am a recent college grad & this is going to be first big purchase and also first brand new car, so maybe i am a little gun shy. Always drove one & two year old car's before now.

Drove the car, and i thought it felt a little jerky in the lower gears. Hard to tell with one test drive whether i was subconsciously imagining it since i read so much about or if the issue was truly there. :)

Spoke to the folks at Acura Carland in Duluth, GA who claims to not know of anything about transmission problems on the TLX and no cars in their service department with the issue. How could that be for a car with so many people complaining about the transmission.

·
Registered
438 Posts
Get the v6 sh-awd instead lol

·
Registered
92 Posts
I would definitely recommend the TLX to friends and family. You can have problems with any car that you buy. Personally I am a big fan of Acura and much of it has to do with how they have treated me any time I have had a problem. I would much rather have an Acura with a problem than many other brands because I am confident they will stand behind their product. For example, Acura had a well known transmission issue in the early 2000s that affected the 3.2 TL. They kept extending the warranty on it and eventually it got to something like 7 years/160,000 km. I can't remember anymore, but my 2000 TL tranny was replaced at around 7 years 120,000 km at no cost to me. Not a lot of other companies would do that with absolutely no hassle.

·
Retired Moderator
2021 TLX
2,334 Posts
Welcome to the Forum!