Acura TLX Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
274 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Let me preface this by saying that I am no mechanic.

I am, however, very observant.. and slightly OCD.

Note: Today, my car hit 7025 miles...

While I was driving home from work, I took the long route home, as to avoid rush hour traffic. The long way home, though, has many stoplights. There are probably 15 or more. My car was doing its normal thing (jerking every time it shifted from 2-3, and my downshifts lately have been getting worse.)

I was sitting at a light about half way through my commute, when I heard a distinct "pop" under my hood. I felt the pop in my brake pedal and under my seat (it was not a normal sound.) It happened while idling and at the pop, my RPMs surged. I thought "great, there is another issue with the transmission." I thought it was on its last leg.

Then, something amazing happened.

For the rest of the ride home, not one...single...poor.. shift. I was in amazement. I was so shocked that I stopped by a restaurant to grab dinner, just to see if when I turned my car off and then back on, if it would continue. It did...

I drove home. I left the car off for about 1.5 hours, and then ran to the grocery store. The entire drive, minus one tiny little bump was smooth.

I don't know what sorcery this is.. but I do know that with each variation my transmission performs in, it tells me that something is not right with it. I wanted to drive immediately to my service department and say DRIVE IT, please! This is how the car is supposed to drive.

Maybe my car has finally decided that today was the day she would be broken in properly. I don't know.

Another observation: it seems to take a little more distance in my gas pedal to get up and going when pressed. It is kind of like the throttle was adjusted with the pop.

We will see how she drives tomorrow.

Maybe it was Jupiter and Venus lining up. Maybe my car is teasing me...

Wes

·
Premium Member
4,998 Posts