Acura TLX Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I am a retired engineer from the US automotive industry. Never bought a "foreign" car until my wife replaced her 1996 Ford Explorer with a 2004 Toyota Highlander. The next year I sold my Olds Intrigue and bought a Camry SE-V6. I like the Camry. It's quite peppy and I can get 29mpg on the highway but after 9 years, I'm ready for something new(er).

Had been looking at the latest Accord or a used TSX or TL. I now think the TLX will be my next car. We rented a 4 cyl Mazda 6 recently and the power was adequate, if not exciting. At my age 30+ mpg on the highway is more important than sub-7 second 0-60 times.

Looking forward to learning all about the TLX while I wait for the dealer inventory to fill up. My closest Acura dealer is 65 miles away so I won't make a trip until I know they have the model I want to test drive (the 4 cylinder.)

·
Registered
36 Posts
lmacmil, welcome to the forums.

In my opinion, the TLX should prove more appealing than either the Accord or Mazda 6. The new TLX is certainly an improved product over the outgoing TSX or TL.

If you're interested in efficiency, the new TLX's transmissions are the key item here, as they are major contributors to high real-world MPG ratings.

·
Registered
727 Posts
I see the TLX as a nice upgrade from an Accord, i think someone looking for more out of an Accord they should seriously consider the TLX.

·
Registered
430 Posts
lmacmil, welcome to the forums.

In my opinion, the TLX should prove more appealing than either the Accord or Mazda 6. The new TLX is certainly an improved product over the outgoing TSX or TL.

If you're interested in efficiency, the new TLX's transmissions are the key item here, as they are major contributors to high real-world MPG ratings.