Acura TLX Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I've been waiting to get my hands on this car for a long, long time :D
Pictures of the BCP w/ Parchment beauty attached below.

Background: This is my first time driving a new car... ever. Only driven used cars (family cars) or didn't need a vehicle due to city-living. Needless to say, I'm going to be driving this for a long time! I'm definitely open to general advice on how to give her the best care. As a first-time new car owner (a luxury car at that), there's probably all sorts of things I'm not aware of that I should be doing.

I'm not an auto junkie by any stretch of the imagination - I saw the TLX as the epitome of beauty, comfort, value, and safety/tech features. Having said that, here are some of my thoughts on the TLX so far:

- The drive is mostly smooth and to me, is an absolute blast to drive. Still, I do get why many many people complained about this so-called "jerkiness" to the transmission. I feel it ever so occasionally and it is very, very slight. For any prospective buyers out there who fall in my category (care more about value/comfort/ride than performance/power/speed) I can tell you the 2.4 gives you no problems. I wouldn't classify the rare slight tugs as an issue for me. The ride is so smooth, it absorbs bumps all day.

- On the other hand, there definitely is some hesitation to the acceleration when you floor the pedal (or come close to it). It's not every time though, I think it can vary depending on your speed and IDS mode. More time needed with this.