Acura TLX Forum banner
1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Super Moderator
1,008 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Wanted to introduce myself.
I'm Gary from Rochester, New York. Nowhere near New York City!
The Toronto members may recall the "Fast Ferry" that went from Rochester to Toronto for a summer or two. I never got to take a ride before it folded and we sold the ship to Australia!!

I have been following the TLX since it was announced. Was anxious to get a firsthand look at the only Acura dealer in Rochester. (There is one in Buffalo and Syracuse).

My username is a throwback to my first "luxury" car, a 1984 BMW 325e. I had plenty of track time at Watkins Glen in my younger days. I stopped after I spun out in turn one and almost t-boned the guard rail! It was fun lapping the track loosing the Corvettes in the turns, but allowing them to pass on the straights!!

I'm an Engineer and have followed the auto industry closely. Was not too happy with C-net's review of the TLX (Link at their site takes you to a Suburban review). Thought they were too shallow compared to other cars that they have reviewed. I do like Cooley and his style of journalism. MotorWeek had some nice praises for the TLX. Others keeps bashing Acura/Honda on "loosing" their way! The airbag fiasco does not help.

I have an insider at Honda! My daughter works at the Marysville plant in Quality. I had a tour of the manufacturing line last October. The Accord sedan consumes one of the two lines while the other is shared with the TLX and the Accord coupe. Believe me that they are all about Quality.

I'm shopping for a V6 Advance. I have narrowed it down to:
Graphite Luster Metallic/Ebony
or
Black Copper Pearl/Espresso

They are both on the lot, but nearby construction has coated them all with a layer of dirt. I also need to take my wife for a ride as she has not been inside one yet. I got the green light from her to get it as long as it has Nav!!