LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 04-20-2017, 06:25 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
New to the Forum

Hello Everyone,

I'm new to the TLX Forum. Got my car back in March of 2015 (2015 TLX V6 Tech). Joined this forum to see everyone else's experience with this car. Mine now has just over 34,000 miles on it. I had the transmission swapped under warranty (mine was plagued with a defective transmission). I don't remember the new transmission part number off the top of my head but I do have the paperwork somewhere at home. Anyways, other than this being an introductory post, I would like some guidance on where to look so that I don't ask the same question that's been asked 500 times already. So I had my transmission replaced back in August of 2016. Mileage was at around 24,000. The new trans works fine (although the jerkiness and throttle lag are still present), however when I go through the drive-thru of say a Starbucks, normally when I'm completely stopped with the steering wheel turned all the way to the left, the car tends to vibrate pretty roughly. It's happened to me twice where the RPMs go down from around 500 RPMs close to 0 and shoot right back up there after. During the process, the car shifts to neutral by itself. Anyone care to chime in as to why it would do that even though the transmission was replaced with a warranty kit or at least direct me to the right thread? PS the dealer service tech states that Acuras are normal to idle between 500 to 1000 RPMS whereas mine idles around 500 (seems to be really on the low side).

Thanks everyone and great forum
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 04-20-2017, 06:54 PM
Super Moderator

Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Quoted: 880 Post(s)
Garage
Welcome to the forum!

What you've experienced isn't normal. I guess the issue is getting the car to repeat the problem at the service dept. Intermittent issues are difficult to troubleshoot obviously.